It Takes A Village Part 2: The Day I Became a Public School Teacher

IMG_0387

“Why now?” – This seems to be the perennial question after I tell people that I will start teaching in a public school. In my head, the answer has always been, why not? While it’s true that I’m no longer the idealistic fresh graduate, I didn’t want to miss the opportunity to reach out to more children who are in need – in need of love and care. I want them to know that there are other options they can choose to take and more importantly, that there are people who care for them.

I’ve spent the past two weeks cleaning, painting, and listening to horror stories about my future students’ behavior. But as the days passed and I received my class list, I felt myself moved with affection for children I haven’t met. Maybe it’s motherly emotions taking over, but whatever it is – I’m definitely excited to meet my kids tomorrow!

This summer has been filled with blessings and the most important one for me is the grace of humility. My friends and I chose to teach in the public schools because we want to help end education inequity. BUT to lose ourselves to a cause much bigger than our own means realizing that we need EVERYONE’S support. We cannot do this on our own.

Here’s how YOU can join our mission! We need the following: (Donations in kind are better. 🙂 )

1. School Supplies / Teaching Materials – pad paper, manila paper, permanent markers, notebooks, pencils, crayons, scissors, glue, bond paper, folders, brown envelopes, pocket chart, storybooks

2. Your Presence – We may need resource speakers for our classes! If you can’t come, we can interview you and make videos. Your time and presence will surely make the kids feel important!

3. Prayers and words of encouragement – Help us spread good stories that will inspire others to help out!

4. Creative ideas – If you have ideas on how we can maximize our resources or suggestions on how to create better learning spaces / environments, do share them with us! We are open to trying out new things in the classroom.

Tomorrow, around 22 million kids will go back to school. Help us make schools a safe and happy place for our kids!

 

6 thoughts on “It Takes A Village Part 2: The Day I Became a Public School Teacher

  1. Abel Malikay says:

    Hello.
    I happened to pass by this blog by chance and I am deeply inspired by the work you are undertaking. So much so that I am willing to donate supplies that you need for the ongoing school year.
    I hope we can correspond through email. Mine is abel.malikay@gmail.com.

    Good luck.

    Like

      • teacherem says:

        Seems we handle the same grade level…Good luck to us! Please, pray tell me, did you actually apply for teaching in the public school? Anyway, if you need tips, I don’t think you need any from me, because I see in you the burning passion to help these kiddies. Well, you have to prepare for the NAT Review, so you need to improve their reading skills, and that’s a big deal to us for them to pass it. As for me, though I have Section 1 for my advisory class, it’s not really homogenous–four pupils from the lower section were included in my class in the hope that these kiddies would turn better and improve in their studies. Before I go to sleep and when I wake up, I include them in my prayers.

        Like

      • Teacher Cris says:

        Well, I applied through an NGO and am under a two-year program to teach grade 3. After the two years, let’s see! 🙂 it’s been a struggle to help them read because a lot of them really don’t know any English… And just today, I discovered that they weren’t taught how to write sentences – both in English and Filipino. Sometimes, I don’t know if it’s the curse of being put in the lower sections or they just grew up learning how to answer multiple choice items.

        Like

Leave a Reply

